Chronic Logic Forums

News => Chronic Logic News => Topic started by: Chronic Logic - Josiah on October 15, 2004, 04:09:17 PM

Title: 10/15/2004
Post by: Chronic Logic - Josiah on October 15, 2004, 04:09:17 PM
The forum seems to be having problems losing members.  After looking around a bit on the IkonBoard support area it seems that the database for the IkonBoard start to lose data once they get a fair amount of members.  This only happens with the DBM databases and not the SQL (the forum currently uses DBM).  If anyone is familiar with the IkonBoards and the problems with them and is interested in helping fix the board please let me know at josiah@chroniclogic.com
Title: 10/15/2004
Post by: Jonathan_NL on October 15, 2004, 04:30:14 PM
It would also be nice if someone familiar with Ikonboard could allow PNG. If you can move the whole database over, you can also do that.
Title: 10/15/2004
Post by: SUparJErk on October 16, 2004, 12:19:20 AM
phpBB!
Title: 10/15/2004
Post by: Jonathan_NL on October 16, 2004, 01:35:46 AM
I don't really know them serverside, but I prefer Ikonboard above phpBB clientside, and it seems faster (not that anything will ever run fast on pontifex2.com!). Both output crappy HTML.
Title: 10/15/2004
Post by: Chronic Logic - Josiah on October 18, 2004, 12:52:14 PM
I have updated the forum to Ikonboard 3.1.2a, hopefully this will help with the recent issues.
Title: 10/15/2004
Post by: Chronic Logic - Josiah on November 01, 2004, 05:23:24 PM
After a lot of trouble I have managed changed the database used to mysql, this should fix the problems some users are experiencing.  The board seems a bit faster also, please let me know if anyone notices anything wrong.



Title: 10/15/2004
Post by: Jonathan_NL on November 01, 2004, 09:20:03 PM
It now comes closer to very detailed custom scenery (including people) at the highest texture res in my flight sim (resulting in 400 MB of 64 MB VRAM in use, no typo) on my laptop with mostly no LOD and max visibility, but it is still far from being competitive. My laptop is still many many many times faster at that (I consider one page loaded to be equal to one frame rendered (which is two simulation ticks in that sim)).

Anyway, the trouble I had (according to iB I wasn't in the database) is gone.