Author Topic: Help! Pontifex wont load  (Read 3560 times)

Tyro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Help! Pontifex wont load
« on: October 28, 2002, 07:41:28 PM »
Yes - I agree the problem is graphic driver related. I tried 4 different ones - 2 from NVidea and 2 from Leadtek - eventually I got one that worked (the NVidea ones gave me a thunkconnect32 error). Leadtek don't seem to acknowledge OpenGL - perhaps they are owned by Microsoft.
"An engineer is someone who can do for ten shillings what any fool can do for a pound"
-Nevil Shute in "Slide Rule: The Autobiography of an Engineer"

Tyro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Help! Pontifex wont load
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2002, 02:10:02 AM »
I reinstalled my graphics drivers yesterday as I was getting IRQ errors in some games. When I tried to start Pontifex this morning I get the frame for a few seconds and then the program unloads. The stderr message is:

Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)

The driver is the same one I was using before and is the latest from LeadTek. I'm using XP and that is fully patched. Other games seem to work fine. The same thing happens if I try to load the "setup" program.

Has anybody got any suggestions before I get PWS (Pontifex Withdrawal Syndrome).

"An engineer is someone who can do for ten shillings what any fool can do for a pound"
-Nevil Shute in "Slide Rule: The Autobiography of an Engineer"

Dreadnough

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://hoelgaard.dk
Help! Pontifex wont load
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2002, 09:38:58 AM »
Then I'm sorry to tell ya to do a reinstall of Windows. I fear the day when I'm forced to do so.
/Casper
"I do not apologize. I'm sorry but that's the way I am." -- Homer Simpson.

chroniclogic

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chroniclogic.com
Help! Pontifex wont load
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2002, 02:10:29 PM »
You said you re-installed your graphics drivers but you are using the same ones as before?  The problem probably has to do with the graphics drivers, you sure these new ones have OpenGL drivers?

Josiah


Aeawen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Help! Pontifex wont load
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2002, 12:14:22 PM »
Which Windows OS are you running?

Dreadnough

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • http://hoelgaard.dk
Help! Pontifex wont load
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2002, 03:53:42 PM »
Try updating your drivers, with some newer reference drivers.
/Casper
"I do not apologize. I'm sorry but that's the way I am." -- Homer Simpson.