Author Topic: 10/15/2004  (Read 11650 times)

Chronic Logic - Josiah

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
    • View Profile
10/15/2004
« on: October 15, 2004, 04:09:17 PM »
The forum seems to be having problems losing members.  After looking around a bit on the IkonBoard support area it seems that the database for the IkonBoard start to lose data once they get a fair amount of members.  This only happens with the DBM databases and not the SQL (the forum currently uses DBM).  If anyone is familiar with the IkonBoards and the problems with them and is interested in helping fix the board please let me know at josiah@chroniclogic.com

Jonathan_NL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
    • View Profile
10/15/2004
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2004, 04:30:14 PM »
It would also be nice if someone familiar with Ikonboard could allow PNG. If you can move the whole database over, you can also do that.
I rarely check this forum anymore. Feel free to send me a PM if you want my attention.

SUparJErk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • http://s88080720.onlinehome.us/
10/15/2004
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2004, 12:19:20 AM »
phpBB!

Jonathan_NL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
    • View Profile
10/15/2004
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2004, 01:35:46 AM »
I don't really know them serverside, but I prefer Ikonboard above phpBB clientside, and it seems faster (not that anything will ever run fast on pontifex2.com!). Both output crappy HTML.
I rarely check this forum anymore. Feel free to send me a PM if you want my attention.

Chronic Logic - Josiah

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
    • View Profile
10/15/2004
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2004, 12:52:14 PM »
I have updated the forum to Ikonboard 3.1.2a, hopefully this will help with the recent issues.

Chronic Logic - Josiah

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 977
    • View Profile
10/15/2004
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2004, 05:23:24 PM »

Jonathan_NL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
    • View Profile
10/15/2004
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2004, 09:20:03 PM »
It now comes closer to very detailed custom scenery (including people) at the highest texture res in my flight sim (resulting in 400 MB of 64 MB VRAM in use, no typo) on my laptop with mostly no LOD and max visibility, but it is still far from being competitive. My laptop is still many many many times faster at that (I consider one page loaded to be equal to one frame rendered (which is two simulation ticks in that sim)).

Anyway, the trouble I had (according to iB I wasn't in the database) is gone.
I rarely check this forum anymore. Feel free to send me a PM if you want my attention.