HOW TO CREATE A CUSTOM MAP PACK ?

Started by fcassore, March 05, 2009, 12:15:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fcassore

Hello,
I am a teacher in a secondary school. We plan to use BCS with our students.
I am working with BCS for a few weeks now and I would like to know how I can add my own map to BCS.
How can I create a pack ?
My other question is : How can I create a map and a special tutorial for it ?

Thank you for your help.

Fred'

Chronic Logic - Josiah

First use the level editor to create the custom levels you want to include in your map pack.  Instructions for creating levels can be found here:

http://www.chroniclogic.com/pontifex2/pfx2manual/levels.html

Download the map packer here:

http://www.chroniclogic.com/demo/packer.zip

Unzip it into your Bridge Construction Set folder (normally c:\program files\Bridge Construction Set\

Run the file packer.exe.

Enter the name of the map pack you wish to create under NAME, for this example we will call our map pack "custompack"

Enter the name of each of the levels you want to add to the map pack under each LEVEL field.  Do not enter the extension for the file name (.pfl), just enter the actual level name.  So if your files were "custom01.pfl" and "custom02.pfl" you would just enter "custom01" and "custom02".  Leave any extra lines blank:

If you would like to have ending text for when someone completes the map pack click on ENDING at the top of the window and then enter the text in as many lines as it takes on the ending screen:

If you would like to have a description for your map pack click on DESCRIPTION at the top of the window.  Enter the description for your map pack on the lines below description:

When you are finished click SAVE in the bottom right corner of the window.  This will create your map pack file which will be whatever you named it with a .pfm on the end.  So if you named the map pack custompack the file will be custompack.pfm: